LAMRIM | CLASS STARTING 19 MARCH 2016 | Every Saturday | 3:00pm – 5:00pm


Description: As Je Tsong Khapa pointed out in his Great Exposition of the Path to Enlightenment (Lamrim Chenmo), “the more the practitioner engages in activities and thoughts that are focused and directed toward the fulfillment of others’ well-being, the fulfillment or realization of his or her own aspiration will come as a by-product without having to make a separate effort.”

As part of Geshe Lobsang Yonten’s discourse, Geshela will be using the commentary text “Liberation in the Palm of Your Hand” by Pabongka Rinpoche .

Liberation in the palm of your handWhen we study the Lam Rim, we are studying the graded path to Buddhahood, something we acknowledge in our prayers, such as when we promise to follow the stages of The Path in Guru Yoga. The purpose of The Path is to remove gross obscurations and gradually to refine realization and purify ourselves of more subtle stains. The Path is the journey from “here” to Buddhahood, and progress on The Path depends on moving from a conceptual understanding (as clarified by Dudra and then the clarification of direct experience of Buddhanature. Thus, The Basis transforms into The Path.






TENET SYSTEMS II | CLASS STARTING 22 MARCH 2016 | Every Tuesday | 7:30pm – 9:30pm










Asanga — one of the most famous Indian saints, he lived in the fourth century and was the elder brother of Vasubandhu. He received teachings from Maitreya and transcribed them as the ‘Five Treatises of Maitreya’. Together with Asanga’s own commentaries, these texts became the basis for the philosophical schools known as Yogachara, or Chittamatra.

Have you even asked yourself “Is Life an illusion?”

Introduction to the Four Indian Buddhist Tenet Systems

  1. Vaibhashika (Hinayana)
  2. Sautrantika (Hinayana)
  3. Chittamatra (Mahayana)
  4. Madhyamaka (Mahayana)

Have you even asked yourself “Is Life an illusion?”, “Is your problem in life just an illusion or is it real? The Tibetan masters have taught the Indian tenet systems as graded steps in meditation, which are then to be applied to daily life. It is important for students to understand the nature of phenomena, how the self is like an illusion, and eventually gain insights on emptiness. Geshe Yonten will also explain the differences between the 4 schools and their views on emptiness.

“Chittamatra” by Asanga (8 classes)

Geshela will commence his teaching on the Four Indian Buddhist Tenet Systems, starting with the Chittamatra (4 classes). The Chittamatra is a Mahayana School founded by Asanga. Its followers say that all phenomena are merely mind—the all-ground consciousness manifesting as environment, objects and the physical body, as a result of habitual tendencies stored within the all-ground.

 “Madhyamika” by Nagarjuna (12 classes)

Following which, Geshela will expound on the Madhyamaka, another Mahayana school, also known as the followers of the Middle Way philosophy, which teaches freedom from all extremes. They say that just as truly existent external phenomena were refuted by the Chittamatra school, a truly existent perceiving mind must also be refuted, since both are equally lacking in inherent existence, being mere dependent originations.

The Madhyamika school originates with Nagarjuna, who commented upon the direct meaning of the Prajñaparamita sutras in his Collection of Reasoning, which includes the famous Root Verses on the Middle Way. There are two ‘schools’ or streams within the Madhyamika: the Svatantrika and the Prasangika.


Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Start typing and press Enter to search